top of page

Spectrum Fantastic Art Live!


So, I’m finally getting around to typing this –

I spent the past weekend with my friend and fellow artist, S.Marie Anderson enjoying the sights and sounds of Kansas City, Missouri…

Our reason for the adventure? -

The Spectrum Fantastic Arts Live Convention.

(Which was simply amazing.)

We spent 3 days wandering around the huge convention center of Bartle Hall amongst a wonderful assortment of artists, art and people. All of whom were simply incredible to be around.

(S.Marie and I decided the first day that this place felt like the abandoned airport in the movie Warm Bodies – It was huge. If it says anything, this convention had at least a couple thousand people that attended and they only used maybe 10 rooms in the entire building. I truly think it could house a small town with room to spare.)

But anyways, I wanted to post some of the things that we learned from the different panels that spoke. I took lots of notes! I’m still (and probably will always act) like a student when I go to conventions.

This weekend was a blast and S.Marie and I learned a lot about the illustration world. So, I figured I’d share at least a little bit of what we learned - If we found it useful, then I’m sure you all would probably appreciate it!

Jon Schindehette of Art Order and Wizards of the Coast moderates the Art Director Roundtable with Sonja Morris and Andrew Vallas of Paizo, Mark Chiarello from DC Comics, Tor’s Irene Gallo, Lauren Panepinto of Orbit Books, and Zoe Robinson and Andrew Navaro of Fantasy Flight.

Yes. Be jealous.

We got the inside scoop on how to interact correctly with Art Directors from some of the biggest named companies in illustration. And let me tell you- they seemed like some very incredible people. If I ever get a job working alongside any of them, I don’t think I could ever complain.

They gave some fantastic advice on how to get your name out there and to really start getting work.

So, for the next couple days, I will make 3 posts about Self-promotion & Social networking, Common Pet Peeves of Art Directors and how to get more illustration commissions!

Keep a look out!

Alana Rose

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page